Book Review: The Spoils of Time Trilogy by Penny Vincenzi (#1 No Angel, #2 Something Dangerous, #3 Into Temptation)


Spoils of Time Trilogy by Penny Vincenzi

Spoils of Time Trilogy by Penny Vincenzi

Last year was a fairly hectic year for me trying to juggle all elements of my life.  This meant I had very little time for book buying for pleasure so I left it to my husband who does a lot of our book buying.  He has some idea as to what I read but there are always wild cards bought with great excuses like it’s set in New York, she’s an Irish author,  I thought you’d like it etc.  One day he arrived home with a pile of books to sell and also a pile for me to read. Amongst this pile was book one of The Spoils of Time Trilogy by Penny Vincenzi.  I was grumbling that it was an odd volume in a trilogy but as it was book one I didn’t rule it out completely.  Like all books in my reading pile it’s turn eventually came when there was nothing else to hand easily.

No Angel is book one in the trilogy. It is a family dynasty story with the central character being Ceila Lytton.  It is set in both London and New York during the late 19th century and runs up to the 1960’s.  Celia is a strong powerful woman who juggles a career in publishing and her family life.  I loved the literary references and social history of publishing during this time.  It’s an intriguing read from the start. It’s one of those books that totally reels you in and you just want to read more.  There was 626 pages but I read it in a couple of days as I got engrossed in the story and loved it.

The annoying bit was there I was then with book one finished and no copy of the next two books in the series so off I went to the library and ordered  books 2 and 3. I was delighted when I got the text to say they had come in. However, when I went to collect them they only had book 3 which wasn’t much good without book 2  (I did have an inner rant about how stupid that was!).  It took months for book 2 to come in and I had kind of forgotten about reading it but as soon as I got the text to say the book was in off I went and got it and abandoned the book I was reading and got stuck in.

Something Dangerous is the title of book 2 in the trilogy and it continues on where No Angel left off. It was a good read and again I finished it in a couple of days but I wasn’t as impressed as I was with No Angel.  I was still curious to know where the story would end so I got book 3 Into Temptation and wasn’t disappointed. This turned out to be another gripping page turner and I found myself carrying it around the house reading it at any opportunity that I had.  At this stage the story is into the next generations but the links and history are all still there to hold your interest.  By the time I got to the end I was disappointed it was over which is always a good sign of a book.  I could easily have read another 1000 pages about they Lytton dynasties and their dramas.

I had never read a Penny Vincenzi book before reading No Angel but I am now a fan so I have a good few books to add to my to read list.  These books will appeal to anyone who likes social history, intrigue, family dramas, romance and much much more.  They are well written and in a way that keeps you hooked until the end.  Just what you want in a book!

Leave a Reply

