Book Review: The Paper Dolls by Julia Donaldson


 

The Paper Dolls

 

The Paper Dolls by Julia Donaldson Illustrated by Rebecca Cobb
ISBN: 978-0-230-74108-9

A cousin of mine bought this for my little girl, who is nearly three, for Christmas.  From the first reading both my girl and my 5 year old boy loved it. I have lost count of how many times I have read it since getting it.

It’s a simple story about a girl whose mother makes her paper dolls – “They were Ticky and Tacky and Jackie the Backie and Jim with two noses and Jo with the bow”.  The story is all about the adventures of the five paper dolls.  It’s a lovely story and the children loved the repetitive rhyme with the names of the dolls.   The dolls have quite an adventure and encounter lots of things which are great to make children think and talk about a book.

The first day we opened it I had to read it about ten times in a row. Over the days during the holidays it was presented to me numerous times for reading and after a few days my little girl came with it and said Ticky and Tacky to me. That’s what she calls the book. My 5 year old boy has learnt the story and now tries to read it to his little sister.

I would highly recommend it for the 3 to 5 year age group and I must say I enjoyed it myself too.

One thought on “Book Review: The Paper Dolls by Julia Donaldson

Leave a Reply

