Fiction Versus Non-Fiction


I have always read fiction.  Years after leaving school I was still sure that I didn’t like non-fiction.  Over the last while I have been reading non-fiction books and I’m hooked.

I have been selling books online for 13 years and while I have thousands of mainly non-fiction books I found I haven’t read many of them.  In 2012 after a few quiet years while I had my family I devoted more time to my book selling business.  This involved sorting through many boxes of books that I had bought.  I was amazed at how many I wanted to read and they were nearly all non-fiction. While I still have a big pile of fiction books to read I now find I have a bigger stack of non-fiction.  I don’t know if it’s life, motherhood or age has changed my taste in books but whatever it is its a change for the better.  Now my problem is I don’t have enough time for all the books I want to read.  Due to my very limited time for reading I find I am currently reading a few books together which I know some people don’t understand how people do it but it’s really easy.

Some recent non-fiction reads:

Dewey – The Small Time Library Cat Who Touched The World by Vicki Myron

Abandoned Mansions of Ireland by Tarquin Blake

Con Cremin – Ireland’s Wartime Diplomat by Dr Niall Keogh

Chicago May by Nuala O’Faolain

I am also going to a book club which is make me read fiction that I normally wouldn’t chose to read like

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Serena by Ron Rash
Lies of Silence by Brian Moore

Now winter is here I hope to have a bit more time for reading.

Leave a Reply

