My First Reading Experiences


I can’t remember when I started reading but my mother said I always had my head stuck in a book.  Books have always been part of my life.

One of my earliest memories is running up to the library most nights.This was before I decided running wasn’t for me but that’s another story.  The library was only up the street from where I lived and used to open at 5.30 and I’d be waiting outside the door. The librarian was a little grumpy and used to say you can’t have your books read already but I used to have them read.  I’d get new books most nights and come down home and sit and read them.

Enid Blyton Books

Enid Blyton was a favourite author of mine and I read my way through many of her books from The Secret Seven series, The Famous Five and many others. I remember going on a school tour and I got spending money for the trip and I bought 3 Famous Five books that weren’t available in the library. I still have them, among many more, and hope my children will read them some day.

I read many books including girls and boys adventure stories.  I loved mystery stories and as I got older read Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys. Our library was small so you couldn’t have the snobbery of saying the book was for a boy or a girl. The childrens section was only about two bookcases in size so I read anything I could find that I could read.  What a thrill it was when the library van came and bought a few new books.

Reading is such a learning experience from learning new words to learning about new places and experiences.  I also found that with books set in different places it broadened my mind to travelling, the world and cultures.

I am bringing my children up to love books and while I am a bookseller I take my children to the library as it’s a lovely experience to chose from such a selection of books and try all different genres.

After I started writing this blog, I looked up the full title list of Enid Blyton books. I can’t believe how many of them I have read and I am really looking forward to reading them all again with my children.  This amuses me greatly as I am one of these people who only reads a book once as I think there are so many books to read why read one twice.

Reading has always been part of my life. I find great comfort in a good book and am never bored when I am reading.  I don’t have as much time for reading since I had my children but I’ll get back to it as they get bigger.  Just because I can’t read them doesn’t stop me buying them.

Leave a Reply

