Book Review: Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James


After loving Fifty Shades of Grey (book 1) and not being overly impressed with Fifty Shades Darker (book 2) I started reading Fifty Shades Freed (book 3) on Saturday wondering was it going to get better or worse.

Fifty Shades Freed continues the story of Anastasia Steele and Christian Greys rather unconventional romance and where it goes next.  Obviously reading this book if you haven’t read the two previous ones is a waste of time.  I also don’t want to say too much to ruin the outcome for people who haven’t read it yet.

There is a much stronger story line in this book than in the previous one. Yes, there is still lots of sex but there didn’t seem to be as much as Fifty Shades Darker which I got bored with.  The story kept me interested and I finished the book on Sunday.  I wouldn’t say they are very well written but E.L. James has an addictive writing style that made me want to keep reading.  I did enjoy this book and how the story concluded.

It makes me wonder about E.L. James. Is she a one trick pony? Is this all she has to offer or can she come up with something to follow up the success of the Fifty Shades trilogy.

I am happy now that I finished the trilogy and can move on to something else to read, preferably sex free as I am overdosed on erotic writings for a long while now.

One thought on “Book Review: Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James

  1. I was not at all surprised when I found out that the trilogy started as fan fiction based on the Twilight series. (I knew there had to be a reason I always saw Ana as Kristen Stewart!). Personally, I never felt that E.L. James was a particularly good writer; rather she happened upon something that a lot of people would be curious to read and she drew out the story well enough over three books. That said, not sure I’d run to read anything she comes out with. Unless of course it becomes yet another cultural zeitgeist.

Leave a Reply

