Book Review: Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James


I collected the book and within an hour I had abandoned the book I was reading, The Cottage At Glass Beach, as it just wasn’t getting my attention.  I read the first chapter and could keep on reading but I had some books to catalogue for listing on the internet.  What is it about these books that aren’t the best written book ever but they have the power to grab my attention (and it’s not the sexy bits!)

From here on the book actually went downhill. There seems to be a lot more sex in this book and the storyline isn’t as strong.  We discover more about Christian Greys past and why he is the way he is.  There is a lot of repetition from the first book in the writing and phrases.  This book wasn’t as funny as the first book either or maybe I’m getting immune.

When I was reading Fifty Shades Of Grey I didn’t want it to end but towards the end of Fifty Shades Darker I was willing it to finish.  I was starting to think how much more sex were they going to have. I have Fifty Shades Freed to start and am hoping it will be a bit better.

I am starting to wonder was book one the best one and the next two are just stretching it along.  I hope book three won’t be a disappointment.  I will reserve full judgement until I read Fifty Shades Freed.  I hope to read it over the weekend so watch out for my final review next week.

Leave a Reply

