How I Read Blogs


Firstly, I have a very busy life so my blog reading is done in snatches on the computer or on my iphone.  I just look at the books section as this is my true passion.  I scan down the list. A picture might catch my eye and secondly an interesting title or byline.  That’s what makes me decide whether to click in and read.

I often just read the first few lines and decide it’s boring and move on.  If I enjoy it I click like and if its something I have an opinion on I leave a comment.  There is such a broad range of topics I could spend hours browsing other peoples blogs. I have to be honest, I think some of them are pure rubbish, others average, others very good and others witty. I find I tune out if its too long.  I like short snappy interesting humorous blogs.

When I first starting blogging I was told the pictures are everything so I try to include a picture in all my blogs but from my browsing of other peoples blogs I have found that this is not the case.  Sometimes a blog can have a great picture followed by the most boring blog ever.  Other blogs have no picture and can be really funny musings.  It backs up the “don’t judge a book by the cover” line yet we are all guilty of it.  I like a bit of humour or daftness.  Life is too short to be serious all the time.

Giveaways do catch my eye but nine times out of ten I am disappointed as they are limited to post within the UK or America.

In a world with little time first impressions are the most important thing.  I find having WordPress on my iphone great as I can browse blogs at any opportunity where I have a few minutes to spare. It’s amazing what great blogs can be found in just a couple of minutes of spare time.

What attracts you to a blog?

Leave a Reply

