Fifty Shades of Grey – yet another review


I had read so many different reviews & blogs about this book that they got me curious so I decided to read it so I could judge it myself. This review is written in two parts as I was reading the book over two evenings.

This book is basically a romance book about the relationship between Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele.  It’s not mainstream romance though as there are a few steamy chapters that will not be to everyones taste.

I started it Tuesday evening and within a few pages I was engrossed. It is totally addictive.  I read the first 8 chapters (108 pages) and wanted to keep reading. It is one of these books that would make me stay up late and finish it but my husband was saying I’ll be tired in the morning (he’s right!). This is the first time in ages that a book has got me hooked and I was looking forward to reading more of it.

A few reviews said this book was a romp from start to finish. I haven’t found this to be so.  The first 100 pages are portraying an intense attraction which hasn’t been acted upon yet…..

On Wednesday evening I finished this book.  Yes, there was some sex scenes. Yes, some of them were a bit darker than average.  There are also many humorous moments.  It goes dark in places but that’s all part of the story line.  I still enjoyed the book and have ordered book two, Fifty Shades Darker, to see where the story goes.  I said when I got book one that the test of it would be to see if I’d order book two.  I hate unfinished story lines so have to keep reading to see where it goes. Maybe by the time I get to the end of book three, Fifty Shades Freed, I’ll be after having enough of it.

2 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Grey – yet another review

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James | darkwoodbooks

Leave a Reply

